Interim Inspector-General of
Murray–Darling Basin Water Resources

Roles in the Basin

The Murray–Darling Basin covers parts of Queensland, New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Victoria and South Australia. In total, the Basin spans 77,000 km of rivers. The Basin is managed by Australian and relevant state and territory governments. Many departments, authorities and agencies are involved.

Read about who has what role

Who to contact

Basin state and territory governments have day-to-day responsibility for:

  • regulating water
  • investigating allegations of water theft and non-compliance.
Find out who to contact

Media releases

5 December 2019
5 December 2019
4 August 2019
1 August 2019